Thursday, June 8, 2023

Trump Administration Refuses to Support Recent Inter-American Court of Human Rights Ruling

The Human Rights Campaign reported today that the Trump-Pence administration refused to sign a statement supporting last month’s Inter-American Court of Human Rights’ ruling on marriage equality and transgender rights.

The Inter-American Court of Human Rights recently released an opinion that Costa Rica is in violation of the American Convention on Human Rights (ACHR) by not providing marriage equality or providing legal options for transgender people to change their gender marker on identity documents. While seven of the eight countries in the Organization of American States (OAS) LGBTI Core Group signed on to a statement supporting the court’s opinion, the United States did not.

“The Trump-Pence administration’s refusal to sign this statement in support of marriage equality and transgender rights is deeply troubling,” said Ty Cobb, director of HRC Global. “As the administration unleashes a torrent of attacks on the LGBTQ community here at home, it is also abandoning LGBTQ people around the world. We are in desperate need of leadership that will advance America’s commitment to LGBTQ human rights in the U.S. and abroad.”

The seven nations that signed the statement on January 22 are Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Uruguay. While the United States has not ratified the ACHR, Canada also has not, but their leadership still signed the statement.  Additionally, Chile, which does not yet have marriage equality, and a number of countries that do not offer transgender individuals a way to change their gender markers, signed the statement.

Inter-American Court of Human Rights Rules in Favor of Marriage Equality


Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles