Sunday, March 26, 2023

Hampton Roads Represented in Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus

The Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus announced its membership list for the 116th Congress on Monday. The caucus has eight openly LGBTQ Co-Chairs, eighteen Vice Chairs, and 155 total members, making it the largest LGBTQ Equality Caucus in the history of the U.S. House of Representatives.

Among the eleven members of the Virginia delegation to the House of Representatives, four joined this caucus as general members, including three members representing parts of Hampton Roads including: Elaine Luria (VA-02), Robert “Bobby” Scott (VA-03) and Donald McEachin (VA-04). Jennifer Wexton (VA-10) is the other Virginia Representative to join the caucus.

“Fairness and equality are core American values. Unfortunately, as he has shown again and again, the President does not share these ideals. That’s why it’s more important than ever that Members of Congress stand up for the rights of the LGBT community,” said LGBT Equality Caucus Co-Chair Rep. David Cicilline (RI-01). “As I prepare to re-introduce the Equality Act, I am delighted that so many of my House colleagues – the largest number on record, in fact – are committed to fighting for full LGBT equality as members of this important caucus.”

The Caucus is Co-Chaired by the eight openly LGBT members of the House of Representatives: David N. Cicilline (RI-01), Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18), Mark Pocan (WI-02), Mark Takano (CA-41), Angie Craig (MN-02), Sharice Davids (KS-03), Katie Hill (CA-25), and Chris Pappas (NH-01).

The Caucus also announced the eighteen Vice Chairs who will assist the Co-Chairs in leading the Caucus and promoting LGBT equality in the House: Judy Chu (CA-27), Theodore E. Deutch (FL-22), Lloyd Doggett (TX-35), Ruben Gallego (AZ-07), Debra A. Haaland (NM-01), Joseph P. Kennedy, III (MA-04), Barbara Lee (CA-13), Ted W. Lieu (CA-33), Alan Lowenthal (CA-47), Grace Meng (NY-06), Jerrold Nadler (NY-10), Chellie Pingree (ME-01), Mike Quigley (IL-05), Jamie Raskin (MD-08), Linda T. Sánchez (CA-38), Adam B. Schiff (CA-28), Darren Soto (FL-09), and Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23).

The Caucus’ 129 general members are: Pete Aguilar (CA-31), Nanette Diaz Barragán (CA-44), Karen Bass (CA-37), Ami Bera (CA-07), Earl Blumenauer (OR-03), Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE-AL), Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01), Brendan F. Boyle (PA-02), Anthony Brindisi (NY-22), Anthony G. Brown (MD-04), Julia Brownley (CA-26), Cheri Bustos (IL-17), Ed Case (HI-01), Salud O. Carbajal (CA-24), Tony Cárdenas (CA-29), André Carson (IN-07), Matt Cartwright (PA-08), Kathy Castor (FL-14), Gilbert R. Cisneros (CA-39), Katherine M. Clark (MA-05), Yvette D. Clarke (NY-09), Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), J. Luis Correa (CA-46), Jim Costa (CA-16), Joe Courtney (CT-02), TJ Cox (CA-21), Charlie Crist (FL-13), Jason Crow (CO-06), Susan A. Davis (CA-53), Madeleine Dean (PA-04), Diana DeGette (CO-01), Suzan K. DelBene (WA-01), Mark DeSaulnier (CA-11), Debbie Dingell (MI-12), Eliot L. Engel (NY-16), Veronica Escobar (TX-16), Anna G. Eshoo (CA-18), Adriano Espaillat (NY-13), Dwight Evans (PA-03), Bill Foster (IL-11), Lois Frankel (FL-21), Tulsi Gabbard (HI-02), Jesús G. “Chuy” Garcia (IL-04), Sylvia R. Garcia (TX-29), Jared F. Golden (ME-02), Jimmy Gomez (CA-34), Josh Gottheimer (NJ-05), Al Green (TX-09), Raúl M. Grijalva (AZ-03), Denny Heck (WA-10), Brian Higgins (NY-26), James A. Himes (CT-04), Chrissy Houlahan (PA-06), Jared Huffman (CA-02), Pramila Jayapal (WA-07), Hakeem S. Jeffries (NY-08), Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30), Henry C. “Hank” Johnson, Jr. (GA-04), William R. Keating (MA-09), Ro Khanna (CA-17), Daniel T. Kildee (MI-05), Derek Kilmer (WA-06), Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-08), Ann M. Kuster (NH-02), Conor Lamb (PA-17), James R. Langevin (RI-02), Susie Lee (NV-03), Andy Levin (MI-09), Mike Levin (CA-49), David Loebsack (IA-02), Zoe Lofgren (CA-19), Nita M. Lowey (NY-17), Elaine G. Luria (VA-02), Tom Malinowski (NJ-07), Carolyn B. Maloney (NY-12), Doris O. Matsui (CA-06), Ben McAdams (UT-04), A. Donald McEachin (VA-04), James P. McGovern (MA-02), Jerry McNerney (CA-09), Gwen S. Moore (WI-04), Joseph D. Morelle (NY-25), Seth Moulton (MA-06), Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26), Stephanie N. Murphy (FL-07), Joe Neguse (CO-02), Donald Norcross (NJ-01), Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC-00), Tom O’Halleran (AZ-1), Ilhan Omar (MN-05), Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ-06), Jimmy Panetta (CA-20), Ed Perlmutter (CO-07), Scott H. Peters (CA-52), Dean Phillips (MN-03), Katie Porter (CA-45), Ayanna Pressley (MA-07), David E. Price (NC-04), Kathleen M. Rice (NY-04), Max Rose (NY-11), Harley Rouda (CA-48), Raul Ruiz (CA-36), Mary Gay Scanlon (PA-05), Janice D. Schakowsky (IL-09), Bradley S. Schneider (IL-10), Kim Schrier (WA-08), Robert C. “Bobby” Scott (VA-03), José E. Serrano (NY-15), Donna E. Shalala (FL-27), Brad Sherman (CA-30), Elissa Slotkin (MI-08), Jackie Speier (CA-14), Haley M. Stevens (MI-11), Eric Swalwell (CA-15), Dina Titus (NV-01), Rashida Tlaib (MI-13), Lori Trahan (MA-03), David J. Trone (MD-06), Paul Tonko (NY-20), Xochitl Torres Small (NM-02), Lauren Underwood (IL-14), Jefferson Van Drew (NJ-02), Juan Vargas (CA-51), Marc A. Veasey (TX-33), Nydia M. Velázquez (NY-07), Peter Welch (VT-00), Jennifer Wexton (VA-10), Susan Wild (PA-07), and Frederica S. Wilson (FL-24).

Founded in 2008, the mission of the Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus is to promote lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) equality. The Caucus, which is led by the eight openly LGBT members of Congress, is strongly committed to achieving the full enjoyment of human rights for LGBT people in the U.S. and around the world.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles