Monday, March 20, 2023

EVPAC Makes House of Delegate Endorsements

Equality Virginia’s Political Action Committee (EVPAC) recently announced its next round of endorsements for Virginia’s upcoming House of Delegates races, taking the candidates’ viability and support for issues of concern to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender community into consideration.

EVPAC-endorsed candidates have made public in their candidate questionnaires their support of legislation to make workplace discrimination based on real or perceived sexual orientation or gender identity illegal. These candidates have indicated their support for protecting LGBT Virginians from discrimination in housing and public accommodations.

“Pro-equality leadership is necessary to end discrimination,” said EVPAC’s executive director James Parrish. “The majority of Virginians support nondiscrimination protections for gay and transgender people, but the votes cast in our House of Delegates don’t reflect that. To ensure Virginia keeps the momentum for full equality moving forward we need strong leaders like these incumbents we are endorsing today.”

The following incumbent candidates have been endorsed by EVPAC:

  • Sam Rasoul, HD-11
  • Kathleen Murphy, HD-34
  • David Bulova, HD-37
  • Kaye Kory, HD-38
  • Vivian Watts, HD-39
  • Eileen Filler-Corn, HD-41
  • Mark Sickles, HD-43
  • Paul Krizek, HD-44
  • Mark Levine, HD-45
  • Patrick Hope, HD-47
  • Rip Sullivan, HD-48
  • Alfonso Lopez, HD-49
  • Marcus Simon, HD-53
  • Betsy Carr, HD-69
  • Steve Heretick, HD-79
  • Jennifer Boysko, HD-86
  • John Bell, HD-87

At this time, Equality Virginia endorsed Hampton Roads resident Steve Heretick for House of Delegates representing District 79.  EVPAC has previously announced endorsements for Ralph Northam for Governor, Mark Herring for Attorney General, and Danica Roem for Delegate in House District 13.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles